Monday 3rd June 2013- We have IP’s!

We have IP’s!
WE HAVE IP’s!
WE HAVE IP’S!!!!!!

I just want to shout it from the rooftop, I’m so excited.  Soooooo many things have happened over the past week that have just cemented this in my mind (and hubby’s!) that this is what we want to do for our friends.

Without going into full specifics (to protect others privacy), I was going to tell them at a dinner we had scheduled for this Friday night. I had it all planned! In the end, I needed to call an emergency meeting to tell them face to face a little earlier than anticipated. But the decision was made, so although telling them was bought forward, there was no pressure from any parties to make the call there and then.

So I sat them down on the couch (you could cut the tension with a knife- they were so worried I was going to tell them that I didn’t want to proceed any further) and handed them an envelope. I told them that inside it contained everything that they wanted to know in terms of our thoughts on me becoming their surrogate.

Inside the envelope was a piece of paper with the word YES in huge letters printed on it in red.

To say they were speechless was the understatement of the century. I told them that our much more deeper than usual conversations had really put my mind at ease about the whole situation and that I couldn’t think of anything more that I would want to do for them. It was a really surreal experience.

And you know what?
None of this feels rushed, or quick. It seems entirely natural and I’m so excited about the road that lies ahead. Will everything be smooth sailing? Probably not! But that being said, its a journey and its a learning experience. As long as we are open and honest with all parties then I truly believe that we can achieve anything.

With all that being said, the next cab off the rank was to call my mum and tell her the news.  I wasn’t looking forward to the conversation. If mum doesn’t like something, you know about it! I didn’t want her permission but I wanted her blessing and for her to be a part of this as someone who I could lean on if needed. Well strike me down with a feather- she was so proud of me and said that what I was doing was wonderful and that she would support me 100% and that if I needed anything she would be here in a heartbeat. WOW. WOW! That gives me so much hope for many other positive responses as I tell the rest of the family. Of course she will worry about her daughter and for our IP’s unborn child, that’s just human nature. I was just so relieved that it went well. So were our IP’s cause she is babysitting for us on Friday so gets to meet them!!

It seems so weird that although I have been thinking of this for a long time now, it’s only been a few years that I have been seriously thinking about it and now this year, I become part of the most wonderful and supportive community and now have IP’s!

This feels so right, but now it feels REAL!!!

 

Leave a Reply

