Tuesday 11th June 2013- My family knows!

My FS appointment is this Thursday! I am nervous excited but am really looking forward to meeting her as she was such a big support to our IP’s during their IVF journey etc. Assuming all goes well with this and the independent obstetric assessment next week, the board will have a report submitted for approval and then its onto counselling!

I just read my state governments review board information. Over the past 3 years, they have had 30 submissions for surrogacy and all have been approved. This just goes to show that the process, although rigorous and time consuming, does work. That gives me a little bit of confidence that if we get all the way through the process, its highly unlikely that we will be rejected after so much time and energy (and not to mention $$$ from IP’s)

I told the rest of my immediate family about my surrogacy plans on the weekend. They were so proud and supportive which is a great thing. I want this process to be transparent and for them to ask lots of questions so I have sent them all a booklet to read. I think in this case, a lack of knowledge can be disastrous in terms of the support we will need from family.

So this week I am back to the gym to get my body as healthy as it can be for the process, both mentally and physically. I’m looking forward to a bit of a release!

I will keep you up to date with how things go on Thursday!

Leave a Reply

