Thursday 5th June 2014- 16 weeks tomorrow!

Well the 2nd trimester is flying by as we enter into week 16 tomorrow. Nausea is 99% gone (unless I am brushing my teeth), headaches have subsided and I am hoping that the usual 2nd trimester energy boost will kick in soon! I am still tired at night, but am going to bed early which makes me feel a little better the next day!

So what has been happening, you ask? Well my belly is expanding nicely, with lots of stretching and pulling going on. Some of my pants are no longer able to be worn and maternity leggings are my new best friend! It has been a massive couple of weeks. The Surrogacy Australia was held a couple of weeks ago and I was so blessed to be able to attend with IM while IF and hubby looked after the kids. I found it a great experience- so informative and loved hearing everyones stories. I met some amazing couples who are looking for surrogates (who I hope find their special lady soon) and some GORGEOUS surrogates who I have only ever spoken to online before.

On the last day of the conference, I was sitting in the theatre listening to a gentleman author from the US talk about the funny side of surrogacy and being gay. I found it quite amusing until THUMP THUMP THUMP. I thought “hold on there for a moment, is that movement I feel inside of me?!” THUMP THUMP THUMP. There it was again. I thought it might have been gas (hello brilliant pregnancy symptom) but no, it was definitely a little cheeky person in there kicking around! I almost squealed with delight, excused myself and ran straight into the foyer to tell IM. She cried! I got a bit teary too. I cant wait for a couple more weeks to go by so they can hopefully start to feel their little bubba bouncing around in there!

Since then, movements have been getting more and more regular. I usually have to be sitting still and concentrating on something else. I can often feel bubs when my tummy is pushed up against my desk at work or where my seatbelt lies in the car. A little pressure seems to heighten the feeling.

We also had our first appointment with the midwife who will be looking after us throughout our pregnancy! She was A-MAZ-ING! She said how thrilled she was to be able to go through the process with us and wanted to make sure that we had everything we needed, were looked after and comfortable throughout the pregnancy. Our next appointment is booked for mid June and a couple of weeks after that is our 20 week scan!

AND (drumroll please) NO MORE MEDS!!! Happy dance, happy dance, happy dance! As much as I didnt mind taking them, it is brilliant that I don’t have to worry about them any more.

Last weekend we went to a trivia night being held for our local multiple births association. I got HEAPS of stuff to give to IP’s- Samples, clothes, blankets, hospital packs etc etc etc. It was a great haul and we were so happy to be able to pass it to them to use.

 

Tomorrow I have a quick scan to check the length of my cervix (they like to keep an eye on things after you have had twins) and hopefully we can see bubs at the same time.

 

Here is a teeny tiny bump pic that was taken a couple of weeks ago:

IMG_0962

 

And the 16 week update according to Kidspot!

“Baby is now around the size of an avocado and it’s time to get ready for him to go through his first huge growth spurt. In the next few weeks, your baby will double his weight and finally be bigger than the placenta that is keeping him alive . Your baby’s head-to-body ratio is starting to even out, as the rest of his body – including his arms and legs play catch-up.

Sometimes, when you move suddenly, you may a feel a slight pain in your sides. Ligaments on each side of your uterus and pelvic walls are stretching as baby grows.  By now, baby will be making your tummy look rounder and your waistline take on the shape of a Teletubby as he will be around 12cm.

He’ll also be an active little demon, turning somersaults and playing with his umbilical cord. Your baby now gets the hiccups, but since they have fluid instead of air in the trachea they don’t make any sound.  He also likes to play, by pulling and tugging and squeezing on the umbilical cord. Although still too slight to be felt, your baby’s movements can be seen during ultrasound exams, which you’ll no doubt be having soon to take a peek at your growing bundle.”

 

LOVE the comment about not being able to be felt- I know what I am feeling is definitely baby!

Settling in for a growth spurt… I wonder how much longer I will be able to hide this from my work?!

 

Leave a Reply

