Friday 14th November 2014- 39 weeks and bubs is comfy, comfy!

No, I haven’t had the baby!

Yes, you will be told when I do!

No, you cant be told when I am in labour!

 

I am starting to get “those” messages. “I am just checking in to see how you are” messages. People loooooove to fish for info! But there is nothing to tell. I have been on maternity leave this week and I gotta say, all this R&R is benefiting both of us. So much so that I think the baby is too comfortable at the moment!! I did have some symptoms and things on Monday and told hubby that I would call IP’s if expressing colostrum increased the severity of them, but they didn’t so I just went to bed and everything fizzled out.

Had an appt last Tues and the old chestnut of me measuring small popped up again, as it has in previous pregnancies. So the Ob got out the scanner and estimated that baby was measuring 3.8kg. That’s probably not the case but he is still growing nicely. Today, just as a precaution I had a CTG trace in the foetal monitoring dept and all looked great! Mind you, we had to wake up the little cheeky, who spent the first half of the trace asleep- drank some iced water and then things started to show some accelerations. So we are just hanging out for the next appt which is with the midwives on Tuesday.

So when do I think I will have this baby?! My thoughts were late 38 weeks or early 39 weeks but now I am not so sure!! Not that I am in much discomfort or anything. I am not at the “get this child out of me!” stage which is great. Miss 3.5 thinks it will happen Sunday. Who knows! Bags are packed and plans are made so we will just maintain the status quo until then. It’s almost surreal to think that this journey has almost reached its conclusion! But I am so looking forward to the birth and handing over my passenger to mummy and daddy. That’s the reason why I am doing this. I just want to see them as a family.

My mum is coming over all weekend so if anything does happen, we already have someone here to mind the kids. IP’s will be over too to help out. We made NO plans for this weekend so I might have to invent something to get us out of the house if the kids start to go a little stir crazy!

Some interesting facts from Kidspot this week:

“Baby’s weight and height may have tapered off as she awaits the arrival of her birthday. The normal length of a pregnancy is regarded as any time from 37 to 42 weeks. However, once your due date passes, doctors will be careful about you being ‘postdates’ and are likely to induce your labour if you go more than 10 to 14 days after your due date.

The universal use of a ’40 week’ gestation was first developed by a German obstetrician called Naegele in the 1800s. He declared that a pregnancy should last 10 lunar months or 40 weeks, which is 280 days, or about 9 calendar months (although we now know that a lunar month is 29.53 solar days, meaning 295 days, which is closer to 42 weeks!)

A study done in 1990 found that the average length of a human pregnancy was about 40 weeks + 8 days for first time mothers, and 40 weeks + 3 days for mothers having their second or subsequent babies.  The average Australian baby weighs around 3.3kg but this can range from 2.8kg to 4.5kg and still be considered “normal”.  The average length of a baby is around 50cm from head to toe, but this can range from 46cm to 56cms. The other important measurement that will be taken once baby is born is head circumference, which is usually around 35cm, but can range from 33cm to 37cm. Hopefully you’re getting the idea that there is no such thing as average – especially when it comes to meeting your baby, who will be a unique little being made up of DNA from you and your partner.”

Does anyone want to guess when they think bubs will be born?!

 

image

 38+5 weeks

image

39 weeks!

4 thoughts on “Friday 14th November 2014- 39 weeks and bubs is comfy, comfy!

  1. I still don’t believe you’re almost ready to deliver! You’re looking amazing as always. I can’t wait to hear the birth story… which means there better be a birth story! Please 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

