Saturday 22nd November 2014- Due date YESTERDAY- What happened?!

Nothing. That’s what happened! lol

On Thursday, after my acupuncture session where my guy tried some induction techniques, I decided that I wasn’t going to wait around any longer for my little passenger to arrive. So yesterday, myself, IM and my Mum went off to the movies and out for lunch. I did lots of walking to and from the cinema, did some barefoot laps up and down the stairs in the cinema before the other patrons arrived, sat through Interstellar at 1,000 hours long, had some pineapple juice aaaaaand nothing happened.

Had a crappy nights sleep again with a mighty grumpy toddler so decided to go to pump class this morning. Still nada. Another session is booked with the acupuncturist this afternoon so I am asking him to get out the big guns of induction techniques to see if he cant work some magic.

To be very honest, I am struggling a little bit today… I was sure this would have happened by now and I am trying to maintain my sense of humour and positivity but am stretching for it a little! If this were my own baby, I think my mindset would be different. But the excitement, the anticipation, the wait. Oh the wait that IP’s and their families and friends have had must be excruciating for them and I just want to deliver this baby into their arms!!! If only positive well wishes were enough to put a gal into labour… I am not “sick” of being pregnant. I am not “over it”. But that doesn’t mean I don’t want bubs to be born sooner rather than later! This is the longest I have been pregnant for!!

I also have to think about my recovery. With less than 2 weeks until I have to go back to work, I don’t want to still be pregnant! lol Proper recovery from a surrogate pregnancy is crucial from a mental and physical standpoint and I just want to make sure that I am 100% before I jump back into the chaos that is my workplace!

So I will have my moment. I will have a wallow in self pity and then I will brush myself back off and get ready for this labour and birth, which I am still so super excited about! I will also eat 1kg of M&M’s. They always make things better.

I will check in on Monday. If I get to Tuesday, we discuss medical induction. Wish me labour vibes, peoples xo

IMG_1639[1]

40 weeks!!

IMG_1640[1]

 

Pretty proud of my colostrum “haul”

 

40 weeks according to Kidspot:

“By now, your baby is baked to perfection, thanks to all your loving care. Only about 5 per cent of babies are born on their actual ‘due date’, with most babies coming within a week after the day estimated. While most babies will be born this week, it’s certainly not abnormal for babies to refuse to arrive on their due date. Doctors and midwives will identify an ‘on time’ baby by checking there is a small fatty pad under their nipples (in both boys and girls) and that baby’s fingernails reach the tips of her fingers, often looking manicured!  By now, baby will be familiar with the rhythms of his mother’s voice. In fact, researchers analysing the cries of newborns found the cries of your newborn baby will be similar to the rhythm of your voice.

Some researchers have calculated that if all Australian women were left to go into labour without being induced:

  • About 50% of women would have their baby between 39 and 41 weeks.
  • Up to 88% of women would have their baby between 38 and 42 weeks.
  • About 6-7% of babies would be born premature (before 37 weeks).
  • If not induced, a small percentage of babies would be born after 42 weeks.

Babies who are born ‘overdue’ often have dry, peeling skin that can look red. They may have less amniotic fluid draining during labour and the baby may be more likely to pass meconium into the waters, potentially staining the fluid. Not that it matters …

Babies begin their life outside your womb at a time you may not be able to predict, but can guarantee will be memorable. The journey through labour and birth is a physical experience you will share with your baby – and even if baby is unlikely to remember it, you will never forget it. Enjoy. “

3 thoughts on “Saturday 22nd November 2014- Due date YESTERDAY- What happened?!

Leave a Reply

